Facebook is about sharing and the default security settings are based on the idea the more data you share the more you connect. That is true, but who are you connecting with and who can see your information on and off Facebook? The following security and privacy tips will give you the power to control how your information is shared to protect you and your friends.
You can access your privacy settings from any page by going to Account in the top navbar and clicking the Privacy Settings link. Fine tune your privacy and security on the Choose Your Privacy Settings page.
Connecting on Facebook:
Information in this section is open to everyone by default to help you connect with friends. The settings determine how people can find you on Facebook.
- To make it easy for people to find me I have selected Everyone, except for my friend’s list which I selected: Friends Only. This hides your friends list from information you share with everyone and protects your friends from possible third-party exploitation.
Sharing on Facebook:
The settings in this section control who can see the content you post, items you share with others, and what content others can share about you. Click on Custom to adjust your settings from the default Recommended.
Most of my settings are Friends Only with the following exceptions:
- Bio and favorite quotations and Website set to Everyone.
- Uncheck the “People Here Now” option.
- Edit the Photos and Videos you’re tagged in settings to Friends Only.
- Edit the Suggest photos of me to friends and the Friends can check me into places (allows friends to tell the world where your are settings to Disabled.
- Contact Info set Address and Phone Number to Only Me by choosing Customize and selecting Only Me in Make this visible to These people: dropdown list. Your choice here, there was some security issues about this awhile back. Note that if you didn’t fill out your address and phone number in profile you may not find them listed here.
Apps and Websites
Click the Edit your settings link to choose privacy settings for apps, games and websites.
- Apps you use
- Click the Edit Settings button to manage your apps.
- Remove apps you are not using by clicking on the X.
- Click the Edit Settings link to review and select each apps’ permissions, for example, some apps like to post on your Wall even though they don’t require the option to function.
- Info accessible through your friends
- You can’t control your friends’ privacy settings, but you can select exactly what information is available to apps and websites if your friends use to avoid sharing your info with third-party services. Uncheck the info you want to protect.
- Public Search
- As a business person, I appreciate clients can find me when they search for me on search engines such as Google. The Facebook entry is just another great way to build your online presence. This option is enabled by default.
- To check to see what your public profile looks like click the Edit Settings button and select the See preview link.
If you absolutely want to rid yourself of a friend, an app, app friend or event invites you can do it in this section. Keep in mind that if you a block a friend, that person can no longer be your friend on Facebook or interact with you (except within applications and games you both use).
Controlling How You Share
This section contains Facebook’s guide to privacy settings. Check this section to find out about new security settings. Facebook changes and updates these settings often and click the See what’s new link to keep up to date.