Facebook’s new sharing and privacy changes have started rolling out to the Facebook community in this week. To make it easier to share with who you want, Facebook is moving the privacy controls from setting pages to inline privacy controls next to profile content, posts, photos and tags…just like Google+.
Inline privacy controls are part of more than a dozen changes to profiles, status updates, locations and tags. These changes will be coming your way soon. When they arrive, you will be prompted to take a tour of the new features for Status Updates from your homepage.
New Sharing and Privacy Changes Overview
Inline Profile Controls
Edit your Profile Privacy using controls located next to each part of your profile. Pick who sees what by choosing from the list in the drop-down menu. See the handy audience selection guide after the slideshow .
View Profile As…
The View Profile As… button is out of hiding and will be appearing on the top of your profile page making it easy to view your profile page as others see it.
Tag Who Your With
Tag anyone, pages, and friends on anything you post including photos, updates and comments. Now you don’t have to be friends with a person to tag them. If you are ever tagged by a non-friend, it won’t appear on your profile unless you review and approve the post.
Tag Where You Are
Tag locations in profile wall posts, status updates, photos and videos to share a place (like a park or a café), where you are or where you were. This will be replacing the mobile-only Places feature to allow sharing from any device.
Choose Who You are Sharing With
Manage privacy by selecting who sees your post from the inline drop-down menu. The “Everyone” option has been renamed to “Public” for clarity. You also now have the option of changing the visibility of status updates even after they’re published.
Profile Tag Review
After a quick trip to the Privacy Settings Page to turn on the new Profile Review setting you can choose to approve or reject photos or posts people tag you in before they appear on your profile.
Content Tag Review
Now you can review and approve or reject any tag someone tries to add to your photos and posts. Turn on the new Tag Review setting in the Privacy Settings Page.
How Tags Work
Turn on the Profile Review and Tag Review in the revised Privacy Settings Page (you’ll find the link under Account in the upper right menu) to adjust your tag privacy in new section – How Tags Work.
Remove a Post From Your Profile
Remove a post from your profile using the new drop-down menu. Your profile represents who you are, so you control what appears on it. The post will still be on Facebook but it will not appear in your profile.
Remove the Tag or Content of Post
Remove the tag so it will no longer link to your profile.
Send the Poster a message, asking to remove the post from Facebook.
Block the Poster. All their tags will be removed, and all interaction on Facebook between you and them is ended.
Remove the Post or Photo From Facebook
Removing a tag or removing a post from your profile doesn’t remove the post or photo from Facebook. To stop the sharing of that photo or post you can ask the poster to take it down or report the post to Facebook to have it removed.
Audience Selector Guide for Posts, Photos, and Profile
Public (Maximum audience for adults)
Friends of Friends (Maximum audience for minors)
Friends (+ friends of anyone tagged)
Friends except Acquaintances (Excludes people in your Acquaintance List)
Custom (Includes specific groups, friend lists or people you’ve specified to include or exclude)Sue Surdam | Artizon Digital | WordPress Specialist and Social Media Solutions | 503-577-1035